Flash Reviews #1: Chew #60 & A Cold Legacy


Source: Goodreads

Title: Chew
Issue: 60 (Finale)
Authors: John Layman, Rob Guillory (Illustrator)
Publisher: Image

My Rating:




Tony Chu is a detective with a secret.

A weird secret.

Tony Chu is Cibopathic, which means he gets psychic impressions from whatever he eats. It also means he's a hell of a detective, as long as he doesn't mind nibbling on the corpse of a murder victim to figure out whodunit, and why.

He's been brought on by the Special Crimes Division of the FDA, the most powerful law enforcement agency on the planet, to investigate their strangest, sickest, and most bizarre cases.





I really disliked this ending, nothing really worth reading happened. I mean I really enjoyed reading about Chu again, I absolutely adore his character and his world. But where is the freaking closure? You can't expect me to believe that it ends like that with no further explanation of the repercussions of his actions...

Plus I didn't really care about what his daughter became in the future.




Source: Goodreads

Title: A Cold Legacy
Author: Megan Shepherd
Publisher: Balzer + Bray

My Rating:




With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein—and perfect for fans of Libba Bray—this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy explores the things we'll sacrifice to save those we love…even our own humanity.

After killing the men who tried to steal her father's research, Juliet and her friends have escaped to a remote estate on the Scottish moors. Owned by the enigmatic Elizabeth von Stein, the mansion is full of mysteries and unexplained oddities: dead bodies in the basement, secret passages, and fortune tellers who seem to know Juliet's secrets. Though it appears to be a safe haven, Juliet fears new dangers may be present within the manor's walls.

Then Juliet uncovers the truth about the manor's long history of scientific experimentation—and her own intended role in it—forcing her to determine where the line falls between right and wrong, life and death, magic and science, and promises and secrets. And she must decide if she'll follow her father's dark footsteps or her mother's tragic ones, or whether she'll make her own.




It's no secret that I have struggled to read this series due to its main character Juliet and the fact that the big events that happen in this series are too predictable.

This book was such a work to read, I never felt like picking it up, all that was driving me was the fact that I needed to finish this series since I already own all the books.

Don't get me wrong if you like this trilogy, good for you I am happy you enjoy it but to me it was dreadful. I didn't believe it was possible for me to dislike a character this much. Juliet will forever remain as one of the most annoying characters ever!

Thank God it's over.

No comments